Timing is everything

With every will in the world I try to schedule my meals.  The advice given has been to eat regular meals, approximately every 3 hours and have 6 meals a day.  The reason being that it helps to stabilize the blood sugar levels and cause your body to be continually working and be more efficient at burning.  I completely understand that concept, but with every will ‘life’ gets in the way of feeding time.  In my case today it was work and meetings.  I’m sure you’ve all been in that situation before.

I actually go to the effort of scheduling my wake-up, and count my meals all the way to the end of the day depending on the workout and activities I have planned for the day.  Is that completely OTT?  Who know’s but I actually do it.  For example this morning I woke up around 5am but didn’t get up because I didn’t want to eat too early as it would throw off all my meals for the day.  I didn’t want to start eating until 7:30am so that my pre-workout meal would be at 4:30pm (workout at 6:30pm).  I was advised also to eat within 30mins of waking up… but I take that to mean getting up as whilst laying in bed my body’s not doing anymore than it was when it was asleep as far as I’m concerned.  So it’s quite a good excuse to stay in bed…lol

7:30am 3 egg white omelette with sweet peppers, no grapefruit today, I had humus on 2 crackers and lemon water.

9am green tea

11am kale, spinach, pineapple and coconut water.  So here’s the first offset.  I should have had this burst of nutrition at 10:30am but alas… meetings held me up.

And then I get told I have to attend a meeting at 1pm.  Don’t these people know I’m supposed to eat at 1:30pm!!!  So what to do?  Eat before the meeting or after the meeting.  This meeting generally runs over and it did 1 and a half to 2 hours later!!  I have to admit though I was hanging by 12pm.  The kale smoothie wasn’t really filling without the protein powder or nuts. I probably should have had some nuts.  But what I did was eat the salad at 12:30pm and then I was like sod it, I’m eating the rest of the food too.

12:30pm salad and chicken curry with 1 cup veg and 1/4 cup quinoa.

4pm 3 egg white, 1/4 cup oatmeal and 5 strawberries pancake.  I cooked it this morning and decided to have for my pre-workout meal as the carbs should be a good boost for a tough Monday evening workout.  I couldn’t wait till 4:30pm.  When your body gets used to eating every 3 hours you literally feel it when you don’t eat.

6:30pm WOD


Can you believe what I had to put my poor body through this evening?!!! 200 thrusters and 200 cals on the rowing machine!!! I was so glad I had that protein pancake; it seriously gave me the energy to push through.  Me and my partner went with a 65lb as opposed to the 75lb and our strategy was to swap every 10thrusters… but that went down to every 5 or 6 after the first 100!!! 

As always you’re dying during the workout but my recovery seems to be good because I feel freakin awesome! Like I could do it again.  

8:00pm protein shake with strawberries 🍓 and coconut 🌴 water

I feel like I need more fuel but gonna leave it at that.  Get up early and do it all over again. 

Leave a Reply

